Office of the President

Dr. Kevin Pollock

Dr. Kevin Pollock began his tenure as President of CCTC in January 2021. Prior to this role, he served President of Montgomery County Community College in Pennsylvania and President of St. Clair County Community College in Michigan.

Dr. Pollock has more than 42 years of education experience at private, public, community and technical colleges and universities. His diverse roles and strengths include college administration, strategic planning, leadership and enrollment management.

He is a Senior Consultant with the American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (AACRAO), serving as a national expert on student success models. Dr. Pollock is a renowned national speaker with a track record of delivering captivating speeches at more than 145 conferences and colleges. He has authored more than 25 book chapters and articles and is a recent co-author and co-editor of a nationally published book entitled SEM as a Connector.

In his time at CCTC, Dr. Pollock has initiated multiple new initiatives including a new strategic enrollment plan and process and the joining of the national student success platform called Achieving the Dream (ATD). ATD works with community colleges to provide integrated, tailored support for areas such as leadership, data and equity that will improve students’ success at CCTC. He is currently in the early stages of leading the college through the decennial reaccreditation process with the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). Dr. Pollock, along with the team at CCTC, also turned the declining enrollment trend around in 2022 with a more than 20% increase in enrollment.

Dr. Pollock holds a Ph.D. in Higher, Adult and Lifelong Education from Michigan State University and a Master of Arts in Education and Bachelor of Science in Education from Central Michigan University. He and his wife, D’Lynn, have three adult children.

Office of the President

Academic Affairs

Jason Tisdel headshot

Jason Tisdel
Vice President for Academic Affairs

Jason Tisdel was announced as the Vice President for Academic Affairs in August 2023.

Tisdel started at Central Carolina Technical College in August 2008 as a mathematics instructor. He has served in the roles of Mathematics department chair, dean of Arts and Sciences and assistant vice president for Academic Affairs.

Prior to joining the CCTC family, Tisdel enlisted in the United States Air Force and successfully completed a commissioning program through the Education Office to join the officer ranks. During his time in the Air Force, Tisdel earned a bachelor’s degree in Mathematics from Wright State University and a master’s degree in Mathematics from the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT).

Originally from Anchorage, Alaska, Tisdel moved to Sumter with his wife, Rhiannon, and son, AJ, after separating from the Air Force.

Business Affairs

Beth Young, VP for Business Affairs

Beth Young
Vice President for Business Affairs

Beth Young joined the Central Carolina Technical College family in September 2021. Before deciding to join CCTC, Young served as vice president for Finance and Operations at Rock Valley College in Rockford, Illinois. She also served as interim president while at Rock Valley College. Before the vice president position, she was dean of Business Affairs/Controller at Kishwaukee College in Mata, Illinois.

Young has previously managed the following departments at other institutions: Financial and Business Services, Auxiliary Services, Information Technology, Athletics, the Foundation, the Community Theatre, Campus Safety and Facility Operations. She also supervised emergency planning and management operations and the college’s facility master planning process and implementation. Young established and maintained a risk management program, managed the college’s investments and cash flow, and assisted in the allocation of financial resources to accomplish the college’s educational mission and goals. 

She is the current president for the national Community College Business Officers organization and has been a board member for this organization since 2015 where she served on the audit committee, chair of the awards committee and vice president of Regional Services. In 2013, she received their Outstanding Business Officer award. Young is also a member of the Northern Illinois Government Finance Officer Association. She holds a master’s degree in business administration from Keller Graduate School of Management and a bachelor’s degree in Mathematics, Secondary Education from Indiana University. 

Young is married to Don Young and they have two daughters. 

Institutional Advancement

Misty Hatfield

Misty Hatfield
Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Misty Hatfield serves as the Vice President for Institutional Advancement at Central Carolina Technical College.

She has more than 20 years of experience in marketing, public relations and advancement in the fields of healthcare, higher education and the military. Hatfield began her career as a Public Relations Specialist with Tuomey Healthcare System, now Prisma Health. She has previously held director level positions at Central Carolina Technical College, the Department of Defense and the University of South Carolina Sumter. While marketing and public relations has been a main focus, Hatfield has extensive experience in development and fundraising including employee campaigns, special event fundraising, golf tournaments and annual campaigns.

Hatfield has been involved with numerous boards and foundations including the City of Sumter ATAX Board, the American Heart Association, the YMCA Board of Trustees, the Chamber of Commerce, the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education. She is also a graduate of Leadership Sumter.

Hatfield received her Bachelor of Arts in Journalism from the University of South Carolina and a Master’s in Public Administration from Troy State University, graduating cum laude and summa cum laude respectively. She and her husband, Lee, have two daughters.

Student Affairs

Lisa Bracken
Vice President for Student Affairs

Lisa Bracken has served as Vice President for Student Affairs since 2008. In this capacity, Bracken provides leadership and oversight for recruitment, testing services, admissions, financial aid, student records, outreach locations, student life, counseling services, career services, tutoring services, and TRIO and PBI grant programs. Bracken is responsible for overseeing student services, processes, personnel, budgets and planning.

Prior to serving as Vice President for Student Affairs, Bracken served as the Director of Admissions and Records, Assistant Registrar, Disability Services Counselor, Admissions Counselor, Recruiter, and Program Manager for Shaw Center. She also worked in a psychological treatment facility for children, domestic violence programs, and as a foreign language instructor overseas. Bracken has over 30 years’ experience in counseling and education.

Bracken is a native of Minneapolis, Minnesota and came to Sumter, South Carolina as a dependent of a military member serving in the U.S. Air Force. She holds an associate degree from the University of Maryland, a bachelor’s degree in Human Services from Eastern New Mexico University and a Masters of Education in Counseling and Psychology from Troy State University. Bracken also holds a graduate certificate in Higher Education Leadership from the University of South Carolina.

Bracken resides in Lexington, South Carolina with her husband Ron. She has two grown children, one of which is a graduate of Central Carolina Technical College.