CCTC pins 42 new Health Sciences graduates

Central Carolina Technical College pins a total of 42 new medical assistants, massage therapists and surgical technologists


SUMTER, S.C. – Central Carolina Technical College’s Health Sciences Division pinned 18 new medical assistants, 12 new massage therapists and 12 surgical technologists during 3 pinning ceremonies on Tuesday, August 4. Each ceremony was held in the Iris Room of CCTC’s Health Sciences Center in downtown Sumter.

The Health Sciences Division an Associate Degree in Nursing; Diplomas in Medical Assisting, Practical Nursing, and Surgical Technology; and certificates in Massage Therapy, Medical Record Coding, and Pharmacy Technology. Health Sciences programs are designed to provide graduates with immediate employment in the healthcare industry or prepare graduates to transfer to articulating colleges.


Medical Assistants

Medical Assistants are broadly defined as individuals who assist other health care professionals in offices and/or other medical settings, performing delegated administrative and clinical duties in accordance with respective state laws governing such actions and activities.

Members of this year’s Medical Assisting graduating class are, in alphabetical order: Sharon Anderson, Frieda Betrand, Laci Cothran, Ashley Davis, Seritta Davis, Kararae Deloach, Nikia Evans, Faith McGee, Ashley Moore, Charita Nelson, Jacqueline Nesbitt, Adrina Parker, Amanda Purvis, Kayla Ratliff, Alan Roberts, Trell Sanders, Ashleigh Tallent, and Ashley Thomas. Adjunct faculty includes: Mary Hayes and Karen Taylor. Program Manager is Mickey Wheeler.

2015 Medical Assistant Graduates
2015 Medical Assistant Graduates


Massage Therapists

The Massage Therapy program prepares graduates to work in direct client care settings to provide manipulation (massage) of the soft tissue structures of the body to prevent and alleviate pain, discomfort, muscle spasm, and stress, and to promote health and wellness.

Members of this year’s Massage Therapy graduating class are, in alphabetical order: Kayla Brown, Sarah Joy Cottone, Nekeya Dingle, Travis Goodrow, Ariel Hall, Sheila Horst-Sheridan, Susan Humphries, Valerie Kershaw, Faith Morris, Sean McGrew, Lauren Wilson-McLeod, and Maria Winn. Adjunct faculty includes: Audrey Bagnal, Amy Duke, and Jessica Ferguson. Program Manager is Brent Jackson.

2015 Massage Therapist Graduates
2015 Massage Therapist Graduates


Surgical Technologists

The Surgical Technology Diploma program is designed to prepare individuals for employment as surgical technologists. Surgical technologists are integral members of the surgical team who work closely with surgeons, anesthesiologists, registered nurses and other surgical personnel in delivering patient care and assuming appropriate responsibilities before, during and after surgery. The primary responsibility of the surgical technologist is to maintain the sterile field while ensuring that all other members of the surgical team adhere to aseptic technique.

Members of this year’s Surgical Technology graduating class are, in alphabetical order: Misty D. Burress, Allison P. Burrows, Danielle Culanding, Hayley E. Forester, Misty A. Graham, Jasmine N. Harrison, Tiffany R. Hutson, Jacquelynn H. King, Alexandria E. Martinez, Tonya F. Taylor, Jovan M. Weston, and Stephanie L. Williams . Adjunct faculty includes: Shannon Brazell and Belinda Lowder. Brie Weber is Program Manager.

2015 Surgical Technologist Graduates
2015 Surgical Technologist Graduates
Scroll to Top of Page