CentralCarolinaScholars2016_Final_Color-01FREE TUITION IS HERE

A partnership to fund our future

Central Carolina Technical College is proud to introduce Central Carolina Scholars, a groundbreaking scholarship initiative like no other in South Carolina. Central Carolina Scholars provides the first two years at Central Carolina Technical College tuition-free. It is an economic development tool for existing and new industries and will afford expanded higher education opportunities to students in Sumter, Clarendon, Kershaw and Lee counties.

A test pilot initiative was introduced in Clarendon, Kershaw and Lee counties in 2011. The pilot initiative successfully culminated in 2015 with enrollment doubling from participating counties. After a successful test pilot, CCTC, along with community and corporate partners, planned to launch a four-year plan with a $250,000 projected annual cost to implement the scholarship. The Central Carolina Scholars Team includes:

  • Central Carolina Technical College
  • All Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee and Sumter County School Districts
  • All Private High Schools in Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee and Sumter counties
  • Cities of Camden and Sumter
  • Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee and Sumter County Councils
  • Corporate sponsors

The Scholarship is available to high school students in the graduating classes of 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019.  High school students must meet Central Carolina Scholars Criteria. Once the criteria has been met, the Central Carolina Scholar scholarship is available for six (6) consecutive semesters. Visit Central Carolina Scholars Criteria for a complete list of the criteria and the Scholars contract for participation.


Contact Us:

Need updates, high school testing dates, or other additional information? Visit the Central Carolina Scholars Blog. Interested students can stop by the Central Carolina Scholars Office located at Main Campus in Building M100, Room M135; call 803.774.3372; or email centralcarolinascholars@cctech.edu. Students may also contact the Central Carolina Scholars Coordinator for their county.

For Clarendon and Lee Counties:

Conyers, Angela Central Carolina Scholars Coordinator

For Kershaw and Sumter Counties:
Osborne, Beverly Central Carolina Scholars Coordinator

Neal, A. Sierra Director, Recruitment & Admissions